A decade of dominance premiers: 2000. 2001. 2003. 2004. 2005. 2007. 2008. 2009. 2010
Checkout Cart
Bulldog Shop log-in area

Press ESC to close

Guernsey Numbers Announced

By Kym Jarman

If you see Ben Nason running around in the Number 4 Guernsey this season, you're not mistaken that his number will be different from last season. Nason is one of many Bulldogs who will wear different guernsey numbers in 2013.

While most established players have kept their current numbers, many younger players have taken the opportunity to don a lower guernsey number in 2013 as some gaps have been left by older/retiring players.

Most notably Brock Castree (18 years old and the Nephew of Bulldog Great Rick MacGowan), who played in the CDFC Reserves Premiership last season wearing number 43, has accepted the #12 guernsey most recently worn by Premiership Player and 2011 Norm Russell Medallist Eddie Sansbury.

Two of the players with possibly the biggest shoes to fill are youngsters Travis Schiller and new Recruit Tim Muelendyks, both 18 years of age, who will wear #28 and #21 (those vacated by the Gowans Twins) respectively. 

Schiller, from Nuriootpa, and younger brother of Jarrod has reportedly been "tearing up the track" this pre-season and has had solid form since representing SA at Under 18 level last year and also playing in the CDFC Reserves Premiership. Muelendyks, is new to SA, but is already proving to be quite a character amongst the group, with his country boy, larrikin nature fitting nicely in and around locker #21.

New Recruit Sebastian Gilhaus will wear the #1 Centrals Guernsey vacated by Reserves Ruckman/Defender Ryan Bottin-Noonan (Who has returned to NSW), while Crows rookie-listed 206cm Ruckman Jack Osborn will slide straight into Jason "Pumper" Sutherlands #30 kit. Sutherland, who married an American girl is currently trying his hand at becoming a NFL 'Punter in the USA'.

Sam Colquhoun (under 18 All Australian last year and now a Port Power listed player) will wear #18 (formerly Jackson O'Brien) and the number worn by 6 time Premiership Ruckman Jason "Buckets" MacKenzie. 

Jackson Potter (from Sydney Swans) will take over Premiership Player Chad O'Sullivan's #7 guernsey, key position prospect Dylan Hewett will wear Andrew Hayes #22, while young local product Patrick White will don Matthew Westhoff's #24. Ruck Prospect Matthew Claughton, who made his League debut in Round 2 last season will take the #31 guernsey left vacant by the departure of James Lawton.

New Recruit Sam Milne will wear #15 while young and tall Key Forward prospect Dallas Hill will wear the #33 guernsey perhaps best remembered for being on the back of both Bulldogs 4 time Premiership Ruckman Paul Scoullar and 1980's Cult hero SA Forward and SANFL Leading Goalkicker Rudi Mandemaker.

Seeing these younger players in some of the most famous Centrals guernsey numbers once again highlights that season 2013 will be very much a year of "blooding the next generation" with many younger players likely to be given the opportunity to play League football, acquiring necessary game time and building towards laying a foundation for Centrals next period of success.

With this season likely to be the most unpredictable in recent times, the Club encourage all Centrals fans to come out and see the next generation of Bulldogs "strut their stuff" in 2013.

By the numbers..... CDFC Players carry Captain Paul Thomas off the ground in 2012. Picture Callum MacKinnon
For a Full look at the 2013 Squad click here

Brought to you by


latest club news
CDFC Members ... don't miss these HOT deals from Holden

                    holden.com.au           FOR MORE DETAILS ON... Read more on this

Shop highlight


We're a winning team at Centrals
We're the mighty fighting 'dogs
We love our Club and we play to win
Riding the bumps with a grin at Centrals

Come what may you'll find us striving
Teamwork is the thing that talks
One for all and all for one
Is the way we play at Centrals

We are the mighty fighting 'Dogs!



Membership Packages

read more

League ladder

  1. Eagles
  2. Port Adelaide
  3. Sturt
  4. Norwood
  5. Glenelg
  6. Central District
  7. South Adelaide
  8. Adelaide
  9. North Adelaide
  10. West Adelaide
Click to view detailed ladder
site by *nishnish