2022 Torrens University SA U16 Squad


An initial 51-player Torrens University SA U16 squad has been selected ahead of the NAB AFL Under-16 National Championships starting next month.

The Central District Football Club would like to congratulate the following players who have made the squad:

Will McCabe, Thomas Cochrane, Mitchell McDonald, Lachlan Giles, Beau Ryan, Charlie Nicholls, Riley McDonald & Dyson Sharp.

Featuring a host of father-son prospects, the squad – selected from the eight SANFL clubs – will be trimmed to 30 after an internal trial match on Saturday June 11.

Coached by Julian Farkas, the Torrens University SA U16 team will play three Championship matches, two in Adelaide and one on the Gold Coast.

South Australia will begin its campaign against Western Australia at Thebarton Oval on Sunday June 26 before tackling Victoria Metro at the home of the Suns, Metricon Stadium, on Tuesday July 5.

A final contest will be played at Thebarton Oval against Victoria Country on Saturday July 9.

Among the familiar surnames in the squad are the sons of Central District premiership pair Luke McCabe and Stuart Cochrane, with Will McCabe and Thomas Cochrane joining six other Bulldogs in the squad.