Women's Football

SANFLW Best & Fairest Recap

Front Row: Katelyn Rosenzweig & Caitlen Teague Back Row: Shaun Ribbons, Demi Sonneman, Madison Lane, Chantel Reynolds, Laitiah Huynh, Shelby Smith & Natalie Seaman | Photo - Peter Argent

Tuesday 1st July the Statewide Super SANFLW Best & Fairest night was held at Adelaide Oval.

Women’s Captain Shelby Smith led the count after round 8 and ended up finishing equal runner up on 14 votes with Glenelg’s Jessica Bates, behind West Adelaide’s Lauren Young on 18 votes.

Shelby also came 4th in the Kia Coaches Award Leaderboard.

SANFLW Best & Fairest Runner Up – Shelby Smith

The Central District women’s side had 3 members in the 2021 The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year.

Central District’s twin towers inside 50m give the side plenty of structure with SANFLW leading goal kicker Chantel Reynolds at full forward and the competition’s leading mark taker at the end of the minor round, Katelyn Rosenzweig, at centre-half forward. Bulldogs skipper Shelby Smith is also an important member of the onball brigade, starting from the interchange.

L to R: Katelyn Rosenzweig, Chantel Reynolds & Shelby Smith

Image by Peter Argent

Central District’s Chantel Reynolds doubled her tally of career goals in one season while claiming the .

The 29-year-old had kicked seven goals in two seasons leading into 2021 but booted a total of 14 across the minor round to head the list of the best forwards in the Statewide Super Women’s League.

Recruited from Angle Vale, Reynolds posted two hauls of three goals – in Round 1 against the Eagles and Round 5 against West Adelaide.

Reynolds is the first Bulldogs player to top the SANFLW Goal Kicking list, joining current teammate Katelyn Rosenzweig, who won the award in 2018 playing for North Adelaide.

Rosenzweig placed equal third this year with South’s Jorja Hooper on 11 goals, behind runner-up in Norwood’s Rosette Zerella, who booted 12 majors in 2021.

Chantel Reynolds – AAMI Leading Goal Kicker Award